CJA is entirely funded by foundations and individual donors.  We receive no government funding and collect no legal fees. To the extent possible, all money damages collected in our cases go to our clients.

CJA was founded in 1998 with support from Amnesty International USA and the United Nations Voluntary Fund for Victims of Torture to represent torture survivors in their pursuit of justice. In addition, CJA would like to thank the following for their support:

Pro Bono Law Firms

Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Bass, Berry & Sims PLC
Carlton Fields
Cooley Godward Kronish LLP
Covington & Burling LLP
Dechert LLP
James K. Green, PA
Heller Ehrman LLP
Hogan Lovells US LLP
Kerrigan Estess Rankin McLeod & Thompson LLP
Latham & Watkins LLP
McVey Mullery Dulberg & Cho
Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Glovsky and Popeo, P.C.
Morgan Lewis & Bockius LLP
Morrison & Foerster LLP
Ollé & Sese LLP
Orrick Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP
Patton Boggs LLP
Reed Smith LLP
Shearman & Sterling LLP
Schonbrun DeSimone Seplow Harris & Hoffman LLP
Sonnenschein Nath & Rosenthal LLP
Steptoe & Johnson LLP
Uría Menéndez & Cia SC
Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati
Wilson Elser Moskowitz Edelman & Dicker

Pro Bono Private Investigators

James Mintz Group, Inc.
Palladino & Sutherland
Adam Raskin
Michael Weber

Foundation Support

Academy for Educational Development – New Voices Fellowship Program
A.M. Fund
Morton K. and Jane Blaustein Foundation
Center for Civil & Human Rights, University of Notre Dame Law School
Center for Victims of Torture
Dominican Sisters of San Rafael
Firedoll Foundation
Ford Foundation
Funding Exchange
HKH Foundation
International Bar Association Foundation
Kelly Ann Brown Foundation
Jewish Community Endowment Fund
Judith Stronach Fund for Non-Violent Social Change of the Vanguard Foundation
Liberty Hill Foundation
New Tactics in Human Rights
Open Society Institute
Oak Foundation
Shefa Fund
Sigrid Rausing Trust
Tides Foundation
Unemployed Philosophers Guild
United Nations Voluntary Fund for Victims of Torture
Van Loben Sels – Rembe Rock Foundation
Villers Fund – Boston Foundation
Working Assets

Professional Supporters

Atlantis Technology Corporation
Focal Point LLC
Juice Design
Minuteman Press

Justice Circle

The A.M. Fund
William & Seema Aceves
Noni Allwood
Melody & Colin Anderson
Bishop Marc Andrus & Sheila Andrus
Karunyan and Inpamani Arulanantham
Baker Botts LLP
Clara Basile
Almudena Bernabeu & Nico Van Aelstyn
Beveridge & Diamond PC
Matt Braithwaite
Farah Brelvi & David Ball
Megan Bouchier
Thomas & Caitlin Brown
Sanjay Bulchandani and Akiko Bristol
Aldo and Cristina Cabello
Toby Cadman
Chadbourne & Parke LLP
Nancy Clark
Cogent Valuation
Sandra Coliver
Nancy Conover
Cotchett, Pitre & McCarthy
Mary Patricia Davis & Wesley Callender
Shirley Davis
Dentons US LLP
Lokelani Devone & Annette Brands
DLA Piper
Dominican Sisters of San Rafael
Melvin & Helen Eisenberg
Entheogen Fund
The Episcopal Diocese of California
Michael Ermer
Andrea Evans and Chris Lehane
Mary Beth Fama
Elizabeth Farnsworth
Lois Blum Feinblatt
Firedoll Foundation
Alexis Gevanther
Gerald Gray & Coleen Higa
Google, Inc.
James K. Green, P.A.
Green Ronin Publishing
Rodrigo E. Guerra Y Guerra
Susan & Gary Halling
Joan Haratani
Richard Hill & Susan Levine
Christina Hioureas
Lisa Honig
Lorraine Honig
Robert Kerrigan
David Krimm & Peter Bradley
Maja Kristin
Tim Lane
Latham & Watkins LLP
Bonnie Lau
Berta and Allen Low
Keker & Van Nest LLP
Kelly Ann Brown Foundation
Martina & Michael Knee
Mina Titi Liu & Charles Eric Rosenblum
Regina McConahay
Ellen & Harold McElhinny
Pamela Merchant & Kirby Sack
Ann Merrill
Paulette Meyer & David Friedman
James Mintz & Deborah Stewart
Joey and Lucy Neugart
William and Sally Neukom
Nolan, Armstrong & Barton LLP
Oak Philanthropy
Nima Oberoi
Open Society Foundations
Tanya McVeigh PetersonEric Roberts
Florence & Paul Roberts
Kathy Roberts & Aaron Loeb
Maria & Larry Roberts
Jane Rocamora
Rockrose Institute
Ropes & Gray LLPRoseben Fund
Rosen Bien Galvin & Grunfeld LLP
Gerald B. Rosenstein
Jonathan Sack
Paul Sack
Peter K. Sanders
Sanford Heisler Kimpel, LLP
George Sarlo
Alexandra Sepulveda
Betty and Jack Shafer
Sigrid Rausing Trust
Michael Sorgen
Squire Patton Boggs LLP
Peter and Chinami Saida Stern
Donald P. Sullivan & R. Steven Taylor
Tom Swift
Roselyne Swig
Martin Tannenbaum & Alex Ingersoll
Mark Tauber & Julie Roley
Tides Foundation
Michael Traynor
Ellen Ullman
Unemployed Philsopher’s Guild
Union Bank
United Nations Voluntary Fund for Victims
of Torture
Van Der Hout, Brigagliano & Nightingale,
Marc Van Der Hout
Beth Van Schaack and Brent Lang
Louis Vasquez & Allison Thoreau
Philippe & Kate Villers
Wilma Wallace & Richard Meyers
Hon. Rebecca Westerfield & Ivy Fine
Wilson Elser Moskowitz Edelman & Dicker
Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati
Rev. Bill Wipfler
Mark Whitcraft
Zitrin Foundation

When States Kill: Latin America, the U.S., and Technologies of Terror
Cecilia Menjívar, Néstor Rodríguez (eds.)
University of Texas Press, 2005.

Thanks to the generosity of the University of Texas Press, editors Cecilia Menjívar and Néstor Rodríguez, and numerous contributing authors, CJA is the recipient of all royalties for this anthology.

Organized by region, the essays in this book address the topic of state-sponsored terrorism in a variety of ways. The book is an excellent resource for those looking for a deeper understanding of the abuses at issue in many of CJA’s Latin America cases.